Everybody, meet Ron Burgundy.

20140206-065134.jpg
I’ve been saving my pennies for a while and I was finally able to waste them on something I didn’t really need, but really wanted. I’ve been seeing old ATBs up on everyone’s blog and couldn’t help myself. I needed to experience this part of bike history that I totally missed. So I bought a 1984ish Mongoose ATB, mostly original and super OG.

20140206-065837.jpg

20140206-065853.jpg
Yes, a Mongoose. It’s a bad name nowadays but I’m shitbike, and this beautiful heavy piece of machinery dates from the days Mongoose was still pretty rad. It’s got an original Suntour gruppo which shifts better than anything I’ve ever ridden, and looks amazing with it’s aged white/clear cable housing. This bike marks my first with cantilever brakes, of which both work perfectly, but will sooner or later be replaced with some PAUL comps, so stoked for that. It features the simply designed slingshot stem, a terrible pair of shitty beach cruiser wheels, kinda tready tires and mismatched crankset, and the most painful handgrips ever.

20140206-073209.jpg

20140206-073229.jpg
The first ride was a revelation. The second was transcendence. It only gets better every time. I caught the bug of the ATB. A friend and I had to hit up the headlands for a proper test. This bike bombs fire roads like you wouldn’t believe and even though it weighs a good forty pounds it glides up gnarly graded terrain. I can’t wait to get some racks and go on some proper adventures.

20140206-074100.jpg

20140206-074145.jpg
Oh, and she is named Ron Burgundy, for obvious awesome reasons.

20140206-074741.jpg

Leave a Reply

